Alert — New California Law — Assembly Bill 1522, California Paid Sick Leave Law aka “Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act of 2014”

On Sept. 10, 2014, Governor Jerry Brown signed AB 1522 — the Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act of 2014 (“HWHFA”). Effective July 1, 2015, California law will mandate paid sick leave accrual for employees statewide at a rate of one hour for every 30 hours worked, allowing employers to cap employee use of paid sick leave to 24 hours (or three days) per year, with accompanying notice and recordkeeping requirements.

Tip of the month: 5 Warning Signs of a Claim

Even when covered by insurance, claims can have a significant impact on your practice in terms of time, money, professional reputation, and peace of mind. By knowing the warning signs of a claim, and calling your risk advisor early on, you can help minimize the impact of lost billable hours, revenue and sleep. What are the red flags? Here are five general warning signs that trouble may be brewing.

Pages

Latest Articles

  • 05 Nov

    FASB ASC 606 – Don’t Get Revenue Wrecked

    by Duncan B. Will, CPA/ABV/CFF, CFE

    Of course, you're relieved and exhausted – in addition to the traditional tax and accounting services you perform for your clients as their accountant and trusted adviser, you've helped them address the new tax law, consulted on a... read more

  • 05 Nov

    Test Your Cyber IQ

    This interactive educational quiz poses 14 questions on various data security issues of concern to CPAs. Find out how well prepared you are. Click the image below or the following link to get started. Test Yo... read more